It's Simply Complicated

Life as a wife, a mom, and a woman

In reflection, it’s not so bad May 22, 2010

Filed under: My Personal Thoughts — alyshaisabella @ 3:42 pm

Saturday was planned out for at least a week in advance. My nephew was having his first birthday at my mother’s house. That way he could have not only a pool to play in, but a huge blow up slide to go down. Following the party I was to have dinner with the family and then set out for a bachlorette party. 

The birthday party was taking place at two o’clock. Since usually the rental is an all day thing, we planned to go over early in the day to swim and slide without everyone else there. When we got there we ended up not really doing anything. The boys swam while I carried around the baby. Bear didn’t seem to want to be set down. At the time too, I was determined to be in a bad mood. I get frustrated on days where my family gets together. It’s hard to tell if anyone will be in a bad mood, which spreads like wild fire, or if things get said that shouldn’t be said. In anticipation of such unknown, I stay on edge. Luckily not long after we got there, Bear needed his afternoon nap. Farron and I headed home for lunch and I needed to regroup. Any time I get so on edge, it makes for bickering between Farron and I. 

After I cooled down and Bear took a nap, we headed to the birthday party. To our surprise, the event was fun and enjoyable. There wasn’t a comment that went the wrong way, there weren’t people there that made things uncomfortable, and spirits were high. Farron and I spent time with Bear in a kiddie pool and then did some time in the big pool. We slipped and slided with the kids, watched my nephew dig into his birthday cake, and genuinly had a really good time. In fact, we lost track of time and didn’t leave until 5:30. We took the children home, put them to bed and I was hurried to get out the door again to help an old friend celebrate her up coming marriage with a bachlorette party. 

Since I had to take a shower, blow dry my hair, and get a gift for her, I didn’t join the party until 8:00. It started at a local land mark and moved to three other places. What was crazy about joining the party was the fact that I was going to see friends that I really hadn’t seen in anywhere from 5 to 10 years. These were also the people I spent most of my time with growing up. It was like a reunion and I wasn’t sure about it. I couldn’t help but wonder if I would have fun, if it would be akward, or if I would be too nervous. As it turns out, I had a lot of fun. Some people I wish I connected with more and others, it was great having the conversations. By the end of the night, I was glad I went and felt great about being included. My bachlorette friend and I haven’t talked in a long time, but I felt honored she wanted to include me. I guess there is still a part of me that loves feeling included and being thought of as a friend reguardless of how much time passes inbetween our get togethers. 

Luke and his Mommy

 

Sliding fun

 

Old and New Friends

 

Bachlorette and some bachlor (we crashed their party)

 

Leave a Reply

